Saturday Morning Report: Cracks, Deer, Gardens, Scorpions, Tires and Idol…

We have no shortage of plumber’s crack in Lytle

…and they certainly allow women to be plumbers!  Jeez.  Suspenders and shirt garters for everyone.

 Moving right along.  Did I mention that I now have more pictures of deer feeding than I possibly know what to do with?  I gave up on taking video and just started letting the deer cam snap a bunch of pictures every few seconds.  

 At this point, I find myself being less amazed at the constant traffic all night long but hopeful for the occasional entertaining picture.  “Hey, ya wanna close-up?

So after we built the long walkway from the patio out to one of the islands, we had this small area between the garbage cans and a tree.  Eva has decided to take up gardening, so we are putting in one of those small raised garden boxes.

 Since I always seem to have some spare lumber and such around, we are fencing in a small area behind the garage that can be used to stack wood out of sight.  What a perfect place to raise a farm full of brown recluse and scorpions.  Hurray!

Speaking of scorpions… Last night we were sitting outside getting ready to jump in the jacuzzi when something caught my eye near the back door.  When you kill one, there will always be another scurrying about because they seem to travel in pairs.  So this morning, I have four dead scorpions participating in the circle of life, fulfilling their role in the food chain, so to speak.

 You know I like to see strange things.  I forgot to post a picture we took a few weeks ago near Moore, a small town south of us on I-35.

 Pranksters out here don’t waste time with graffiti and that sort of vandalism, instead they do something creative.  Like hoist a huge tire up to the top of a big tower.

 And finally,  this is our daughter Roxanne performing before a crowd of enthusiastic airmen during Manas Idol.  She was selected to move on to the next round for her version of a Journey tune.  She thought it was going to be like a karaoke thing, but instead had to perform without the benefit of music or teleprompter!  Exciting stuff.

About Living Out Here

I like to eat, I enjoy taking pictures, and I keep a camera with me most of the time. If I'm eating something good or see something worth taking a picture of, I like to share it.
This entry was posted in Deer, Lytle, Manas, Moore. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saturday Morning Report: Cracks, Deer, Gardens, Scorpions, Tires and Idol…

  1. AlanDP says:

    Those deer are probably near starving because of the drought. You may eventually regret attracting them by putting out food. Deer are just giant rats with antlers and hooves, and they will destroy whatever gets in their way if they want to get to food. So…if you're planning a garden or flower bed, it's going to need a very tall fence.

  2. ctscribbler says:

    Vee are the zombie deer, mit our brightly glowing eyes. You vill grow purple pansies for our dining delight.

  3. ctscribbler says:

    PS – Go Roxanne!!!!

  4. Dave says:

    Interesting that you mention that (the deer destroying whatever, not them being zombies) because just last night someone came in and tipped over my garbage can to get at whatever smelled good. Could have been a raccoon or something, but it made me think that the garden won't be safe, regardless. I suspect I'll be constructing some sort of fashionable cage for the garden.

  5. ctscribbler says:

    Seriously, plant a border of chysamthemums around the garden, PLUS plant an offering of hostas outside the mum border.This is a popular strategy up here in CT. Hostas are like ice cream sundaes with a cherry on top to the deer, and they'll nibble the hostas and stop at the mums. Plus everybody knows that zombies are scared of mums. (Or is that nuns?)

Leave a comment