ManCave Update: Ready to Tape and Float…

So not a whole lot of action this week.  After we finished with the sheet rock I went ahead and put up the projection screen. 

As you can see, the screen is simply more sheet rock.  The plan is to from it with some nice 1 X 2, and when we paint, use a special mixture that will transform the sheet rock into a high quality screen.  It measures 8′ by 4’6″ which gives us a 110 inch (diagonal) screen.  I got the instructions from the Home Theater Forum, and the results I have seen online look great. (The blocks of wood are just temporary).

I was given the name of a local sheet rock guy by someone out here and he came by to give us an estimate.  He asked me which company did the work and I was happy to tell him it was me, my son and son-in-law.  Though he did mention the obvious mistake we made regarding the staggered seams (we screwed up the first two sheets we installed), he said the job looked as professional as most of the work he sees.  Not bad for a bunch of amateurs.

We came up with a fair price and he’ll come out Monday or Tuesday and get us all taped, floated, and textured.  Things are coming right along.

About Living Out Here

I like to eat, I enjoy taking pictures, and I keep a camera with me most of the time. If I'm eating something good or see something worth taking a picture of, I like to share it.
This entry was posted in ManCave. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to ManCave Update: Ready to Tape and Float…

  1. MsBelinda says:

    Granted I do not know much about sheet rock or projection screens but what a great idea!

Leave a comment